Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Chief Rabbi Race of Nepotism

The registration period for the position of Chief Rabbi has finally closed. Here is the full list of candidates:

The candidates for Sepahrdi Chief Rabbi are:
  •  Rabbi Eliyahu Abergil, 
  • Rabbi Ratzon Arusi
  • Rabbi Tzion Shalom Boaron,
  • Rabbi Yehuda Deri, 
  •  Rabbi Shmuel Eliyahu, 
  • Rabbi Yitzhak Yosef, 
Eliyahu and Yosef are both the sons of former Chief Rabbis, while Deri is the brother of SHAS chairman Aryeh Deri.

The candidates for Ashkenazi chief rabbi are:
  • Rabbi David Lau, 
  •  Rabbi Eliezer Igra, 
  •  Rabbi Yaakov Shapira, 
  • Rabbi David Stav,
Lau and Shapira are the sons of former Chief Rabbis. All in all out of 10 candidates, 4 are sons of former Chief Rabbis and one is the brother of a prominent politician.  

No comments: